Posted on Aug. 15, 2019, 2 p.m. Views: 24


We tag along with the engineers at Sofar Ocean Technologies to watch a test of their Spotter Buoy--an ocean sensor that collects data about the weather anywhere it's deployed. The idea is to put enough of these sensors around the world to gather marine data on an unprecedented scale. Today's test: deploying these from an airplane!

Learn more about Sofar here: https://www.sofarocean.com/
And their Spotter buoy here: https://www.sofarocean.com/products/spotter

Shot and edited by Gunther Kirsch
Additional video courtesy of Sofar

Subscribe for more videos! http://www.youtube.com/tested
Follow us on Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/testedcom
Get updates on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/testedcom

Tested is:
Adam Savage http://www.twitter.com/donttrythis
Norman Chan http://www.twitter.com/nchan
Simone Giertz http://www.twitter.com/simonegiertz
Joey Fameli http://www.joeyfameli.com
Gunther Kirsch https://guntherkirsch.com
Ryan Kiser https://www.instagram.com/ryan.kiser
Kishore Hari http://www.twitter.com/sciencequiche
Sean Charlesworth http://www.twitter.com/cworthdynamics
Jeremy Williams http://www.twitter.com/jerware
Kayte Sabicer https://www.instagram.com/kaytesabicer
Bill Doran https://twitter.com/chinbeard
Ariel Waldman http://www.twitter.com/arielwaldman
Darrell Maloney http://www.twitter.com/thebrokennerd83
Kristen Lomasney https://twitter.com/krystynlo

Intro bumper by Abe Dieckman
Set design by Danica Johnson http://www.twitter.com/saysdanica
Set build by Asa Hillis http://www.asahillis.com

Thanks for watching!